Monday, 2 June 2014

Here is an extract from a recent email (31st May) to all TUSC candidates, from Clive Heemskerk, the national agent, on behalf of the TUSC national committee. And below the extract, for information, is a list of the members of the TUSC national committee.

“We are writing on behalf of the TUSC steering committee to congratulate you on all your hard work for the recent elections.  As you know TUSC managed to stand an impressive 561 candidates in the biggest left-of-Labour challenge in six decades.  Our candidates included many trade unionists and community campaigners who had never stood in an election before, but saw TUSC as an opportunity to take the battle against austerity onto the electoral plane”.

Despite the press blackout, we were, “able to achieve some very creditable results. In Southampton councillor Keith Morrell, a member of the TUSC steering committee, was re-elected with a crushing majority”. In 21 councils we achieved, “more than 1,000 votes”  and in 10 councils, “more than 2,000”.  We scored over 5% of the vote in 78 council wards.

“Whichever party wins the general election we will face a continuation of government for the billionaires.  The Labour leadership has repeatedly made it clear that a Labour government will implement austerity.  Now Labour leader, Ed Miliband, has even stated that he would consider increasing the already draconian anti-trade union laws.  

As the growth in support of the right-wing nationalists of UKIP has shown, it is urgent that we step up our work to build a political force that actually stands in the interests of working class people and has a clear anti-cuts, anti-racist, socialist programme.

In order to facilitate this work it is important that TUSC is organised locally.  If no local structure already exists we recommend that a local steering committee or branch is urgently set up and that all those who have participated in the local election challenge are invited to participate. 

While it is up to local groups to determine exactly what structure best suits your locality, they should operate on the basis of consensus, as is the case nationally, in order to build the maximum possible unity between the growing forces involved in TUSC”.

The TUSC National Steering Committee
Chairperson – Dave Nellist. 
National Nominating Officer – Clive Heemskerk.

The Steering Committee members 
Representatives from the Rail, Maritime and Transport workers union (RMT), the Socialist Party, the SWP, Socialist Resistance and the TUSC Independent Socialist Network.

Plus, in a personal capacity, Steve Gillan (POA General Secretary), Chris Baugh (PCS Assistant General Secretary), Joe Simpson (POA Assistant General Secretary), John McInally (PCS Vice-President), Ian Leahair (FBU National Executive), Nina Franklin (ex-NUT President), Brian Caton (ex-POA General Secretary), Cllr Keith Morrell (Southampton), Cllr Don Thomas (Southampton), and Nick Wrack.

No comments:

Post a Comment